• Blog

The UK's Advanced
Electric Bike Experts
since 2003

Electric Bike Reviews

Here at 50cycles, we love getting feedback from our customers. Rather than keeping all of your kind words to ourselves, we thought we'd share them with you.

On this page, you'll find real reviews from real riders; find out what they love about their electric bike, what they use it for and why they chose it! You never know, the reviews might just help you decide on the best electric bike for your lifestyle. You'll also find more reviews of the bikes on their individual products pages.

Speed E-bikes


Integrale S10 XT

Fantastic Bike

by Jonathan on 20 Oct 2016

I have had my Integrale s10 Xt for a couple of months now and am extremely pleased with it. The bike is really comfortable to ride, quiet and unbelievably well built. I love the fact that you can get as much exercise as you like by adjusting the amout of help the bike gives you and when you've had enough, just up the power level and head home. I have ridden up some serious hills and the bike just power's up them with no problem at all. Absolutely delighted!

Sports E-bikes


Yakun Tour

Very Good

by E-Bike Test Focus on 4 May 2017

E-bike Test Focus Yakun ReviewThe distinctive Winora is unique in many ways. With wide 27.5-inch tires, it offers a good balance of maneuverability and rolling behavior; Rarely in this vehicle class are the axles, which fix the wheels exactly, instead of quick-release.

The Yamaha engine, which is particularly strong on the mountain and when starting, is combined with a 2 × 10-speed chain shifting. For this purpose, he pushes up a useful speed range up to above 26 km / h. The agile Yakun is very sporty with a soft-responsive suspension fork and extremely strong, although well-adjustable disc brakes. The seating is comfortable, the handlebar is quite wide. Great idea: the trailer coupling integrated into the frame.

Yakun Tour

Yakun on Tour

by Nick on 27 May 2017

Glad you liked the pictures, just to add this bike is an absolute dream to ride, as you said you can use the power as much or as little as you want as with the 20 gears you can still work up a good sweat but knowing at the end if you want that help then the power this bike belts out is phenomenal.

To be honest anyone out there thinking about an electric bike then in my opinion you can't go wrong with this one, fun times ahead

 

 

 

SDURO Trekking 5.0 men

Delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0

by Nick on 8 May 2017

The personal attention and customer service delivered by 50 cycles was exceptional. My thanks go to Anthony, Chloe and Nathan for providing me with detailed and comprehensive advice and support throughout my selection and purchase. I am now the delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0 and I have every confidence in recommending this company to those interested in buying an electric bike.

Pro Connect 9G

One of the best buys I have ever made.

by Bob Beasley on 25 May 2016

I decided to treat myself to an e bike for my 70th birthday earlier this year.hitherto I had been riding a Giant Cypress XL, for my weekly outing of 20-30 miles. Initially I visited both the London Cycling Exhibition and a local Cube supplier until I was told about 50 Cycles in Loughborough. A visit to them and an hours trial on the Pro Connect Impulse 9 convinced me this was the bike for me.

The bike is a delight to look at and a pleasure to ride. It arrived at my home 4 days after I placed the order and With some help from a friend, it was soon set up and ready to ride. Having taken some banter about being a "cheat", in fact I am now getting more exercise , regularly going out 3 times a week. In 2 months I have done over 600 miles. I live in a fairly hilly area and a 30 miles ride uses less than half the battery. I use Eco for gradients and hills, maybe occasionally Sport, and Off for flat and downhills. No more heart sinking moments at the bottom of a steep climb!

I had a couple of minor issues which 50 Cycles dealt with efficiently, when I returned the bike for a check over. In particular they explained how to zero the tripometer which I couldn't fathom, and also showed me how to fit the battery correctly which I had struggled with. I cannot praise the staff at Loughborough highly enough.All in all this is one of the best buys I have ever made.

Pro Connect 9G

My First Electric Bike and Not Dissapointed

by Chris Osgood on 20 Feb 2016

I've ben toying with the idea of an electric bike for some time now as my back is giving up and I was finding it difficult to keep up with the family. I had researched many of the bikes on the market and some were really heavy and some were conversion types so not specifically built for the electric purpose.

I popped into the Bristol 50 Cycles shop when visiting my son earlier this month and was impressed firstly by the helpfulness of the staff and then by the quality of the Kalkoff product. I had looked at Kalkoff on line but not been able to actually inspect one until now. I didn't place an order straight away but did so more or less as soon as I got back home. Again the staff couldn't have been more helpful and arranged delivery to Jersey a few days later.

Having now made a few of trips out on my Pro Connect it is excellent. The ride without power is smooth and with power is better than I had hoped for. Brilliant and the many hills here no longer phase me. The build quality, as you would expect for the money, seems first class and there is even a pump discretely hidden on the inside of the pannier rack. First impressions are excellent and thanks to Anthony Douglas and Harry Gyurgyak at 50 Cycles, Bristol for all the help.

Pro Connect 9G

I can't begin to describe how happy I am :)

by Michael Harding on 19 Aug 2016

Pedelec is great, really pleased with it. German engineering at its very best, really well made, everything about it oozes quality. Handover was good when I collected it, all checked over and set up and helpful hints and tips on battery etc. I have various digestive issues which means I can't eat enough to maintain my weight if I burn off too many calories on long bike rides on a standard bike. So this is going to be a life changer for me, can't begin to describe how happy I am :)

Pro Connect 9G

Kalkhoff Pro Connect 9G

by Rob Fraser on 11 Nov 2016

Ordered the bike for my 66th birthday. I was a member of a cycling club at 16,so have not ridden for 50 years.What a revelation the Kalkhoff Pro Connect has been superb quality,rock solid build,comfortable,fast,O and something no other bike gives you ////// a permanant SMILE.Honestly I look forward to many years of enjoyment on my new bike,THANK YOU 50 Cycles,for putting a whole lot of FUN back into my life.

Integrale 10

This bike is awesome!

by Michael on 18 May 2016

The moment I first set my eyes on it, I knew this was a beautifully designed and detailed piece of German engineering at its best. I believe my first expletive was something along the lines as, "this is like the Mercedes of ebikes" ... and to my mind you can't get better than that! I have owned the bike just over a month now and I love it! ... It is fun to ride and assists me quite effortlessly up the many hills my partner tackles on her road bike, I must say not to her total amusement as I glide silently past her on the steepest of hills!

The ride is solid and comfortable, you can feel the build quality from within, the beautifully smooth gear changes through the shift-sensor technology and of course the smooth and reliable pull of the motor just when you need it on those long never ending hills!

The attention to detail is second to none, the Kalkhoff Integrale 10 looks 'the business' and performs accordingly. This bike has rejuvenated by enjoyment of cycling, at 55 I was starting to struggle up the steeper hills which was affecting my overall enjoyment but that has been reignited with this bike. The 'assist' means you still get plenty of exercise but don't dread the hill that's lurking around that next bend. The extended capacity of the battery has enabled me to enjoy a full days ride across the undulating country roads achieving distances I have never tackled before.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Kalkhoff Integrale 10 or indeed Kalkhoff electric bikes in general ... they really are quite superb ... and in my opinion ... second to none! ... Michael ... a very satisfied customer!

Toba Crossbar

I can't begin to describe how happy I am :)

by Michael Harding on 19 Sep 2016

Pedelec is great, really pleased with it. German engineering at its very best, really well made, everything about it oozes quality. Handover was good when I collected it, all checked over and set up and helpful hints and tips on battery etc. I have various digestive issues which means I can't eat enough to maintain my weight if I burn off too many calories on long bike rides on a standard bike. So this is going to be a life changer for me, can't begin to describe how happy I am :)

Toba Crossbar

I didn't need one - I just wanted one!

by John Casswell on 23 Sep 2016

I didn't need an electric bike as already own 5 standard ones and have been a cyclist all my life- but- after trying them when we came to Bristol with perspective buyers I didn't want to miss out on the fun. These bikes are serious fun!

I justified it by saying I would be left behind now if my partner had one. They are the perfect accessory for our motorhome as we can get to any nearby city, town NT property or event with ease and arrive fresh even if it's hilly. These bikes come into their own on a hill. 

I didn't want a bike that looked like an electric bike. This is smart with its matt back frame and red detailing. It cycles well too even without the battery. 

Anthony has so much product knowledge and is has been great at answering questions on line as well as in person. There is no need to hard sell as the quality of the products speak for themselves. The ability to try before you buy is great. I had no intention of buying! No regrets though, it's lovely to go out on rides and not think about how many climbs are to be faced! Thanks 50 Cycles.

Toba Crossbar

My First Electric Bike and Not Dissapointed

by Chris Osgood on 20 Sep 2016

I've ben toying with the idea of an electric bike for some time now as my back is giving up and I was finding it difficult to keep up with the family. I had researched many of the bikes on the market and some were really heavy and some were conversion types so not specifically built for the electric purpose.

I popped into the Bristol 50 Cycles shop when visiting my son earlier this month and was impressed firstly by the helpfulness of the staff and then by the quality of the Kalkoff product. I had looked at Kalkoff on line but not been able to actually inspect one until now. I didn't place an order straight away but did so more or less as soon as I got back home. Again the staff couldn't have been more helpful and arranged delivery to Jersey a few days later.

Having now made a few of trips out on my Pro Connect it is excellent. The ride without power is smooth and with power is better than I had hoped for. Brilliant and the many hills here no longer phase me. The build quality, as you would expect for the money, seems first class and there is even a pump discretely hidden on the inside of the pannier rack. First impressions are excellent and thanks to Anthony Douglas and Harry Gyurgyak at 50 Cycles, Bristol for all the help.

Toba Crossbar

Really good indeed

by Kevin on 12 Aug 2017

Just cycled over 700 miles on this superb bike. The 60 frame is an absolute winner for tall people like me and is such a smooth ride at 15mph. Been along canal paths , busy roads, cycle paths and all over the Yorkshire moors. Fantastic in the rain handles very well.. This bike travels very well up the steepest hills and I find the pedal assist helps your all over balance when going up hills etc.. Highly recommended, 5 stars.

Pro Connect i9

Kalkhoff Pro Connect 9

by Rob Fraser on 4 Jul 2017

Ordered the bike for my 66th birthday. I was a member of a cycling club at  16,so have not ridden for 50 years.What a revelation the Kalkhoff Pro Connect has been superb quality, rock solid  build, comfortable, fast, O  and something no other bike gives you ////// a  permanent  SMILE. Honestly,  I look forward to many years of enjoyment on my new bike, THANK  YOU 50  Cycles, for putting a whole lot of FUN back into my life.

Pro Connect i9

Solid performer, great fun.

by Rod Spurrier on 1 Jul 2017

I am a 70 year old and have been cycling with a local club since retiring 3 years ago. I was looking for an electric bike mainly for the fun of it. In October 2015 I bought a second hand Kalkhoff Sahel Nuvinci. In January 2016 I saw a Pro Connect 9G on the used bikes page of the 50 Cycles website.

This was the one I really wanted, it was an insurance claim, a new machine at a very reasonable price. As of October 2016, I have done 2600 miles. I ride mostly in Eco mode, using the higher settings only on the stiffest Derbyshire hills or when I want a bit of fun on the way home. My average journey is 48 miles, 3 led's on the battery indicator. The range works out 80 - 85 miles. I discarded the pump, preferring my own. I removed the riser stem and installed a Deda road bike stem to give myself a sportier position. I have replaced the saddle with a Brookes flyer - the one with coil springs and I have fitted pedals with SPD's on one side so I have the option of clipping in or riding in standard shoes. The bell trigger broke on the second ride, I now have a pinger bell.

There was initially some occasional graunching noise coming from the chain wheel area. On investigation, I found the chain wheel had not been deburred after pressing and suspect in certain gears when the chain was particularly off centre it may have been catching. Having filed away the burrs, it seems better. At 1500 miles, I replaced the brake pads. At 2100 miles I bled the rear brakes as the lever was spongy. 2250 miles, fitted a new chain, I used two Sram 9sp chains as described by another reviewer. At 2350 miles I had to tighten the cassette which had become loose.

The bicycle is a stable dependable machine, a delight to ride, even Winnatts Pass is do-able. It's quite a heavy bike compared to a road bike, occasional riding without the motor will keep you fit and you certainly know when you have reached 16.5mph and the motor cuts out as you speed uphill. If you are alway at the back of the ride, struggling to keep up, just get one of these. You will have more fun and your club mates will thank you. Since I bought the bike, one other club member has bought one and several members have fitted power kits to their bikes. I still ride at the back on club rides, as a sweeper, laden with tools and spares.

Commuter E-Bikes


Integrale i8

Enjoying life on my Kalkhoff

by Gareth on 6 Dec 2016

Recently purchased a Kalkhoff Integrale 8 Belt. I’m a heavy chap, rather unfit and thought an e bike would be a good option. Some 40 miles later I can give some initial feedback.

Day one saw the first test, a hill near my house which is so steep people even hate to walk it – the Kalkhoff just flew up with little effort. The next was a hill known as “heartbreak hill” as labelled by Ironman contestants - ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xXtkaDvhINs ) Again the Integrale simply flew up with ease.

Anthony at Bristol cycles told me I’d never have to leave the saddle on a hill and he was right. I’m so enjoying this bike and there have been a few comical moments with pedestrians encouraging me as I cycle past them on a hill as they don’t realise it’s an electric bike. You do have to peddle and it does get your heart rate going and this is good.

As for range – this varies depending on hills, careful use of gears, assist level and at the moment my weight. The more I ride it the better the battery life I think. I bought two Orbitel panniers, which are ideal. The ride is comfortable and the bike itself just looks amazing and attracts a lot of attention when parked up. I’ve not cycled for years but cycling around my town or countryside its great to be able to stop and chat to people I know – you miss so much in a vehicle.

The service at 50 Cycles is excellent and my post purchase questions were dealt with promptly so a big thank you. Looks like a second bike for my wife in the coming weeks.

Integrale i8

Brilliant buy

by Andrew Thorpe on 6 Dec 2016

Given the expense of the bike I had some misgivings, wondering whether I would use it much. I have now had it almost 4 months and all worries have gone. I had not cycled for 30 years but having lost a lot of weight and got fitter I wanted to have a go at cycling again.

I live in a very hilly are and that was putting me off so I decided to go for an electric bike. On my first ride out I did 25 miles up and down some long very steep hills and had only 10 minutes rest halfway. Since then I have started to use the bike with the power turned off on flat roads only using the power at various levels when I need to. This makes for a nice relaxed ride but is still helping to keep me fit. I now ride to work (when not raining) which does involve some steep inclines but on the 4 mile journey it is almost as quick and using the car.

The bike itself is solid and well made. I have had no problems at all and am loving owning it. My partner has also purchased and electric bike from 50 cycles and we are looking forward to the warmer weather. We have been loving our short day rides and have alepready booked a holiday where we will be taking the bikes on the Thule towbar carrier also purchased from 50 cycles.

Integrale i8

Makes it so easy

by Tony Jordan on 6 Dec 2016

After taking up the offer of test rides on a couple of the Kalkoff bikes at Bristol I cycled up the infamous Park Street in Bristol and the bikes made it so easy. Having thought long and hard and compared other brands, I have bought a Integrale 8 speed from 50cycles and any second thoughts about buying such an expensive bike have faded away, such is the quality of the bike and its amazing performance. The advice and after sales help from Anthony at Bristol has been excellent. After a month of cycling around Exeter, I am consciously finding reasons to get on the bike and use it instead of the car, so easy is the bike to use.

Integrale i8

"Hill, what hill?"

by Roger on 6 Dec 2016

I am the proud owner of one of the first Kalkhoff Integrale 8 LTDs in the UK. It’s design is clean, purposeful and indeed “integrated”. Once I had adjusted everything to fit my short-legged frame, I went on a 30 mile cycle including some of the steepest gradients on the North Downs near Sevenoaks in Kent, including Carter Hill at 17.5%. The Integrale simply went “Hill? What hill?” as it’s 80nm of torque powered me up at an indicated 7.5 mph. Going down hills and hitting 30 mph I have never felt so safe on a bike. Everything from the frame to the Shimano disc brakes felt completely sorted.

On this ride I deliberately keep the power assistance on “Ultra” most of the time so I could complete the first discharge learning cycle for the battery as soon as possible. Even then, it took me 40 miles before running out of juice.

Finally, a word of thanks to the 50 Cycles team, who were really helpful when I was scratching my head working out how to adjust handlebars and seat posts!

Integrale i8

Integrale i8

by David Wheatley on 28 Mar 2017

3 months in and 400 miles on the clock. What an amazing bike. This is my 2nd Kalkhoff from 50 Cycles and I'm still impressed by both firms. The customer service from 50 Cycles shows other firms how it's done. The bike looks and feels the biz

Activity E-Bikes


Agattu Premium 8G

Great!

by Dorothee on 6 Dec 2015

I bought this bike in October and I have become a big fan! I use it to replace the car as much as possible. Hills and wind are not a problem anymore, what s delight!....As mentioned in an previous email , I finish my ride not sweaty and so happy to have been outside. It is heavy but when you are on it , you do not feel the weight anymore and it is an absolute pleasure to cycle.

We are very lucky with the network of cycle paths close to where I live i must say and it allows me to make the most of it. I have to be honest and say that I use it in 'power' mode most of the time as I find the 'sport' and 'eco' modes a bit slow when I compare it with my normal touring bike which I have used quite a lot but this is my personal feeling. I do not regret having bought this bike at all. It will motivate me to use the car less and save on petrol, still exercise and be outside. Let' s hope that in the long run , they become affordable to more people so we can all enjoy cycling and do our good for the planet.

Agattu i7 HS

I didn't know cycling could be so much fun!

by Jane Bailey on 14 Dec 2015

50 Cycles wasn't our first port of call for electric bikes but it was our last! Anthony was helpful, patient and knowledgable and the quality of the product spoke for itself.

I'm a fit 50 with a keen cycling partner and our long cycle rides have reduced me to tears on relentless hills - no more! We have a steep long local hill that I have never managed to get up as it is steepest at the bottom. So having picked up my bike on Saturday I put it to the test yesterday. Wow! It was just brilliant, I still work but it takes out the pain. It is a lovely secure feeling ride even at over 30mph.

The bike is so easy to get to grips with and lovely to look at. I did buy a battery upgrade though as we do cover 50 plus miles at a time. I don't regret the investment and will enjoy long rides and steep hills with a smile on my face.

Agattu i7 HS

Review of Kalkhoff Agattu

by Liz on 16 Jan 2016

What an amazing bike, I've had this for a month now and thoroughly enjoy cycling it. It really makes light work of cycling in head on wind, even in the wind and the rain I've used it to commute to work every day. Charles at Shorham has so much knowledge on all the bikes and he quickly identified the right bike for me without the pushy sales pitch. There's also some great routes to take from the shop to test drive the bikes too. I love my bike, everyone needs at least one e-bike in their life.

Agattu i7 HS

Agattu 7g

by Deb on 20 Feb 2016

Over the moon with the bike, spent along time deciding which bike to get, asked lots of questions and had very quick professional replies from staff at 50 cycles. The bike arrived very quickly, easy to put together and I was able to ride on the same day! Brill! I would not hesitate to recommend the bike and 50 cycles.

Agattu i7 HS

Great bike

by Carol on 13 Apr 2016

This is a great bike - beautifully built. Comes complete - packaging amazing and only had to add the pedals. It's heavy but you don't feel that because of the pedal assist and that is essential for managing the hills in the south Pennines. It manages the steepest of hills without having to get off and walk but also gives you the exercise benefits of cycling. I wish I had bought one years ago.

Tasman i8

Back cycling again and superb city commuter bike

by Esh Mahenthiralingam on 7 Feb 2017

Bought bike online after a phone discussion with Anthony who confirmed that a hub geared bike and something like the Tasman would suit my city cycling commute. The bike arrived along ready to go and just needed to charge battery fully. First commute to work was just amazing and I arrived with a big smile on my face. It took 55 miles to run the battery down for the first time on full power mode. Overall, I think it's the best thing I ever bought and it's great to get back on a bike for communing, but without all the sweat and bother if you don't want it - just power up or down with the assist mode. Looking forward to many more miles on what is a real quality piece of kit.

Tasman i8

Impulse cycling

by Steve Richards on 11 Feb 2017

I've always enjoyed participating in sport but in recent years I've had to stop playing golf and running as my arthritis was just getting too painful. I was then looking for another outdoor activity where I could enjoy myself and keep up a reasonable level of fitness for someone 65+

I started researching electric bikes and came across the 50cycles store in Bristol quite by chance while I was out shopping. I spoke to the store manager Anthony Douglas who was very helpful and arranged for me to have a test ride. From that moment I was hooked and came back into the store and ordered a Kalkhoff Tasman Impulse electric bike.

I've now clocked up 400 miles in 4 months and have absolutely loved my new found freedom. I can now effortlessly climb hills and I can be far more adventurous in cycling longer routes on our local cycle paths and trails with very little effort. I also appreciate the excellent build quality of a Kalkhoff bike and would thoroughly recommend one to anyone who just wants to go out on a bike ride and enjoy our countryside in comfort.

Mountain Bikes


E-Aspect 920

Scott easpect 920

by Lawrence on 9 Jul 2017

Thanks to Frankie for all her help. I'm very happy with the bike I've rode up some steep hills and actually enjoyed it. I waited awhile before making the leap due to design of the bikes and a bit of pride. The bike is superb and I'm more than happy to recommend the bristol store as frankie is very knowledgeable and professional.

Scott


E-Aspect 920

Scott easpect 920

by Lawrence on 9 Jul 2017

Thanks to Frankie for all her help. I'm very happy with the bike I've rode up some steep hills and actually enjoyed it. I waited awhile before making the leap due to design of the bikes and a bit of pride. The bike is superb and I'm more than happy to recommend the bristol store as frankie is very knowledgeable and professional.

Winora


Yakun Tour

Very Good

by E-Bike Test Focus on 4 May 2017

E-bike Test Focus Yakun ReviewThe distinctive Winora is unique in many ways. With wide 27.5-inch tires, it offers a good balance of maneuverability and rolling behavior; Rarely in this vehicle class are the axles, which fix the wheels exactly, instead of quick-release.

The Yamaha engine, which is particularly strong on the mountain and when starting, is combined with a 2 × 10-speed chain shifting. For this purpose, he pushes up a useful speed range up to above 26 km / h. The agile Yakun is very sporty with a soft-responsive suspension fork and extremely strong, although well-adjustable disc brakes. The seating is comfortable, the handlebar is quite wide. Great idea: the trailer coupling integrated into the frame.

Yakun Tour

Yakun on Tour

by Nick on 27 May 2017

Glad you liked the pictures, just to add this bike is an absolute dream to ride, as you said you can use the power as much or as little as you want as with the 20 gears you can still work up a good sweat but knowing at the end if you want that help then the power this bike belts out is phenomenal.

To be honest anyone out there thinking about an electric bike then in my opinion you can't go wrong with this one, fun times ahead

 

 

 

Haibike


SDURO Trekking 5.0 men

Delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0

by Nick on 8 May 2017

The personal attention and customer service delivered by 50 cycles was exceptional. My thanks go to Anthony, Chloe and Nathan for providing me with detailed and comprehensive advice and support throughout my selection and purchase. I am now the delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0 and I have every confidence in recommending this company to those interested in buying an electric bike.

Quality Electric Bikes Supplier

First Class Service

We specialise in providing the best electric bikes and the smartest cycling accessories in the UK. We also offer the most responsive and knowledgeable after sales service.

Find out more

Finance Options Available

All our new bikes are available to buy with interest-free finance (typical 0% APR). You can ease the cost of ownership by paying a deposit and choosing one of our finance packages when checking out.

Find out more

Book a Test Ride

Sometimes it takes a test ride to understand what an e-bike can do for you. Please visit one of our showrooms or take a test ride with a local Kalkhoff owner who's also a demonstrator

Find out more