• Blog

The UK's Advanced
Electric Bike Experts
since 2003

Electric Bike Reviews

Here at 50cycles, we love getting feedback from our customers. Rather than keeping all of your kind words to ourselves, we thought we'd share them with you.

On this page, you'll find real reviews from real riders; find out what they love about their electric bike, what they use it for and why they chose it! You never know, the reviews might just help you decide on the best electric bike for your lifestyle. You'll also find more reviews of the bikes on their individual products pages.

Sports E-bikes


Cross Hybrid Race Allroad 500

Superb bike

by Neil on 28 Nov 2017

Having recently bought the AllRoad 500 from Reece at Altrincham and just returned from my first ride of 30 miles it was superb. The bike is comfortable to ride handles as well as my Cube cross hybrid. Can ride it without electric and the range is good too. Riding in Eco mode I covered 30miles and there was still 39 miles range still showing. All round very pleased with the bike and the service from Reece at Altrincham.

Cross Hybrid Race Allroad 500

Opened up cycling for me again

by Simon on 22 May 2018

I walked into 50 Cycles in Bristol without a clue about what I was looking for (well, apart from an electric bike!). Luiz could not have been more helpful: his expertise guided me to this machine. I took a test ride, and was hooked. The bike feels like a regular hybrid bicycle, and does not look like an electric bike. The 11 speed cassette provides a broad span of gearing for most, of not all situations. The CX electric motor is excellent and, set in eMTB mode, selects from "Tour" or "Turbo" depending on how much effort you are putting through the pedals. In the particularly hilly part of Monmouthshire where I live, it is ideal. My only concern is the range: my wife's Kalkhoff seems to provide vast amounts of reserve power, whereas the maximum I can achieve in "Eco" mode is about 42 miles: in "eMTB" less than 20. I might need to invest in a double battery set up. But all in all, an excellent machine and a great sales and after sales service from Luiz at 50 Cycles Bristol.

REACTION HYBRID Pro Allroad 500 27.5

A brilliant bike

by Tim on 4 Apr 2018

The Cube Reaction Hybrid Pro 500 is a brilliant bike and I have been using it for carrying/pulling two kids aged 6 and 8. I do the school run at least three times a week plus taking kids to things at the weekend. I have it set up with a Bobike Junior child seat and pulling along an Islabike using a FollowMe attachment. So it has been working hard while my wife has the car. This means we remain a one car family. It's also great fun when I get the chance to zip off without the kids!

Yakun Urban

Wizard Winora

by John on 6 Feb 2018

Bought the Yakun Tour as a retirement present to get me out and about and it's certainly delivered. It's a quality bike. 1500 miles so far up and down the pesky Chiltern Hills, along roads, cycle paths, muddy lanes and flinty tracks and no punctures so far! Fitted an Ortlieb trunk bag and Zefal spy mirror which complement the look.

The Yamaha PW-X drive is very impressive. Pottering along on ECO will give almost 100 mile range but this bike is addictive and just loves going past a bit of lycra uphill. Use STD or HIGH and 50-70 miles is more realistic. It likes a reasonably high cadence and the gears took me a few days to master as my previous e-bike had a Currie motor driving the rear wheel and could just be left in top gear - until the batteries died after little more than 10 miles. Disc brakes are very powerful and just a squeeze with a little finger is all that is required.

The lights too are very good. The front automatically brightens when going through subways or avenues of trees in country lanes. Never had a bike with suspension before. The ride is still quite firm but well controlled helped by the big Almotion tyres that have a surprisingly low rolling resistance. Can't stop smiling!

Yakun Tour

Very Good

by E-Bike Test Focus on 4 May 2017

E-bike Test Focus Yakun ReviewThe distinctive Winora is unique in many ways. With wide 27.5-inch tires, it offers a good balance of maneuverability and rolling behavior; Rarely in this vehicle class are the axles, which fix the wheels exactly, instead of quick-release.

The Yamaha engine, which is particularly strong on the mountain and when starting, is combined with a 2 × 10-speed chain shifting. For this purpose, he pushes up a useful speed range up to above 26 km / h. The agile Yakun is very sporty with a soft-responsive suspension fork and extremely strong, although well-adjustable disc brakes. The seating is comfortable, the handlebar is quite wide. Great idea: the trailer coupling integrated into the frame.

Yakun Tour

Yakun on Tour

by Nick on 27 May 2017

Glad you liked the pictures, just to add this bike is an absolute dream to ride, as you said you can use the power as much or as little as you want as with the 20 gears you can still work up a good sweat but knowing at the end if you want that help then the power this bike belts out is phenomenal.

To be honest anyone out there thinking about an electric bike then in my opinion you can't go wrong with this one, fun times ahead

 

 

 

SDURO Trekking 5.0 men

Delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0

by Nick on 8 May 2017

The personal attention and customer service delivered by 50 cycles was exceptional. My thanks go to Anthony, Chloe and Nathan for providing me with detailed and comprehensive advice and support throughout my selection and purchase. I am now the delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0 and I have every confidence in recommending this company to those interested in buying an electric bike.

Integrale 10

This bike is awesome!

by Michael on 18 May 2016

The moment I first set my eyes on it, I knew this was a beautifully designed and detailed piece of German engineering at its best. I believe my first expletive was something along the lines as, "this is like the Mercedes of ebikes" ... and to my mind you can't get better than that! I have owned the bike just over a month now and I love it! ... It is fun to ride and assists me quite effortlessly up the many hills my partner tackles on her road bike, I must say not to her total amusement as I glide silently past her on the steepest of hills!

The ride is solid and comfortable, you can feel the build quality from within, the beautifully smooth gear changes through the shift-sensor technology and of course the smooth and reliable pull of the motor just when you need it on those long never ending hills!

The attention to detail is second to none, the Kalkhoff Integrale 10 looks 'the business' and performs accordingly. This bike has rejuvenated by enjoyment of cycling, at 55 I was starting to struggle up the steeper hills which was affecting my overall enjoyment but that has been reignited with this bike. The 'assist' means you still get plenty of exercise but don't dread the hill that's lurking around that next bend. The extended capacity of the battery has enabled me to enjoy a full days ride across the undulating country roads achieving distances I have never tackled before.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Kalkhoff Integrale 10 or indeed Kalkhoff electric bikes in general ... they really are quite superb ... and in my opinion ... second to none! ... Michael ... a very satisfied customer!

Commuter E-Bikes


Yakun Urban

Wizard Winora

by John on 6 Feb 2018

Bought the Yakun Tour as a retirement present to get me out and about and it's certainly delivered. It's a quality bike. 1500 miles so far up and down the pesky Chiltern Hills, along roads, cycle paths, muddy lanes and flinty tracks and no punctures so far! Fitted an Ortlieb trunk bag and Zefal spy mirror which complement the look.

The Yamaha PW-X drive is very impressive. Pottering along on ECO will give almost 100 mile range but this bike is addictive and just loves going past a bit of lycra uphill. Use STD or HIGH and 50-70 miles is more realistic. It likes a reasonably high cadence and the gears took me a few days to master as my previous e-bike had a Currie motor driving the rear wheel and could just be left in top gear - until the batteries died after little more than 10 miles. Disc brakes are very powerful and just a squeeze with a little finger is all that is required.

The lights too are very good. The front automatically brightens when going through subways or avenues of trees in country lanes. Never had a bike with suspension before. The ride is still quite firm but well controlled helped by the big Almotion tyres that have a surprisingly low rolling resistance. Can't stop smiling!

Integrale i8

Enjoying life on my Kalkhoff

by Gareth on 6 Dec 2016

Recently purchased a Kalkhoff Integrale 8 Belt. I’m a heavy chap, rather unfit and thought an e bike would be a good option. Some 40 miles later I can give some initial feedback.

Day one saw the first test, a hill near my house which is so steep people even hate to walk it – the Kalkhoff just flew up with little effort. The next was a hill known as “heartbreak hill” as labelled by Ironman contestants - ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xXtkaDvhINs ) Again the Integrale simply flew up with ease.

Anthony at Bristol cycles told me I’d never have to leave the saddle on a hill and he was right. I’m so enjoying this bike and there have been a few comical moments with pedestrians encouraging me as I cycle past them on a hill as they don’t realise it’s an electric bike. You do have to peddle and it does get your heart rate going and this is good.

As for range – this varies depending on hills, careful use of gears, assist level and at the moment my weight. The more I ride it the better the battery life I think. I bought two Orbitel panniers, which are ideal. The ride is comfortable and the bike itself just looks amazing and attracts a lot of attention when parked up. I’ve not cycled for years but cycling around my town or countryside its great to be able to stop and chat to people I know – you miss so much in a vehicle.

The service at 50 Cycles is excellent and my post purchase questions were dealt with promptly so a big thank you. Looks like a second bike for my wife in the coming weeks.

Integrale i8

Brilliant buy

by Andrew Thorpe on 6 Dec 2016

Given the expense of the bike I had some misgivings, wondering whether I would use it much. I have now had it almost 4 months and all worries have gone. I had not cycled for 30 years but having lost a lot of weight and got fitter I wanted to have a go at cycling again.

I live in a very hilly are and that was putting me off so I decided to go for an electric bike. On my first ride out I did 25 miles up and down some long very steep hills and had only 10 minutes rest halfway. Since then I have started to use the bike with the power turned off on flat roads only using the power at various levels when I need to. This makes for a nice relaxed ride but is still helping to keep me fit. I now ride to work (when not raining) which does involve some steep inclines but on the 4 mile journey it is almost as quick and using the car.

The bike itself is solid and well made. I have had no problems at all and am loving owning it. My partner has also purchased and electric bike from 50 cycles and we are looking forward to the warmer weather. We have been loving our short day rides and have alepready booked a holiday where we will be taking the bikes on the Thule towbar carrier also purchased from 50 cycles.

Integrale i8

Makes it so easy

by Tony Jordan on 6 Dec 2016

After taking up the offer of test rides on a couple of the Kalkoff bikes at Bristol I cycled up the infamous Park Street in Bristol and the bikes made it so easy. Having thought long and hard and compared other brands, I have bought a Integrale 8 speed from 50cycles and any second thoughts about buying such an expensive bike have faded away, such is the quality of the bike and its amazing performance. The advice and after sales help from Anthony at Bristol has been excellent. After a month of cycling around Exeter, I am consciously finding reasons to get on the bike and use it instead of the car, so easy is the bike to use.

Integrale i8

"Hill, what hill?"

by Roger on 6 Dec 2016

I am the proud owner of one of the first Kalkhoff Integrale 8 LTDs in the UK. It’s design is clean, purposeful and indeed “integrated”. Once I had adjusted everything to fit my short-legged frame, I went on a 30 mile cycle including some of the steepest gradients on the North Downs near Sevenoaks in Kent, including Carter Hill at 17.5%. The Integrale simply went “Hill? What hill?” as it’s 80nm of torque powered me up at an indicated 7.5 mph. Going down hills and hitting 30 mph I have never felt so safe on a bike. Everything from the frame to the Shimano disc brakes felt completely sorted.

On this ride I deliberately keep the power assistance on “Ultra” most of the time so I could complete the first discharge learning cycle for the battery as soon as possible. Even then, it took me 40 miles before running out of juice.

Finally, a word of thanks to the 50 Cycles team, who were really helpful when I was scratching my head working out how to adjust handlebars and seat posts!

Integrale i8

Integrale i8

by David Wheatley on 28 Mar 2017

3 months in and 400 miles on the clock. What an amazing bike. This is my 2nd Kalkhoff from 50 Cycles and I'm still impressed by both firms. The customer service from 50 Cycles shows other firms how it's done. The bike looks and feels the biz

Integrale i8

Zuperbike

by Den Boles on 1 Feb 2018

Got my i8 integrale in August 15. Thought i should comment as I have just completed 3000 miles. Apart from a few minor normal running renewables such as new brake pads there have been no mechanical.issues. This bike runs as well now as the day I bought it. What a brilliant machine. Takes everything in it's stride. Long hills and steep hills no problem. Head winds no problem. Totally recommend it. Knocking on a bit now, just passed 76 birthday. Don't know if it will add years to my life but certainly has added life to my years. Great to be able to get out and enjoy cycling like I always have throughout my life. Thanks Kalkhoff

Activity E-Bikes


TOBA i7 with Suspension

Great bike

by Carol on 4 Oct 2017

This is a great bike - beautifully built. Comes complete - packaging amazing and only had to add the pedals. It's heavy but you don't feel that because of the pedal assist and that is essential for managing the hills in the south Pennines. It manages the steepest of hills without having to get off and walk but also gives you the exercise benefits of cycling. I wish I had bought one  years  ago.

TOBA i7 with Suspension

I didn't know cycling could be so much fun!

by Jane Bailey on 23 Oct 2017

50 Cycles weren't our first port of call for electric bikes but it was our last! Anthony was helpful, patient and knowledgeable and the quality of the product spoke for itself.

I'm a fit 50 with a keen cycling partner and our long cycle rides have reduced me to tears on relentless hills - no more! We have a steep long local hill that I have never managed to get up as it is steepest at the bottom. So having picked up my bike on Saturday I put it to the test yesterday. Wow! It was just brilliant, I still work but it takes out the pain. It is a lovely secure feeling ride even at over 30mph.

The bike is so easy to get to grips with and lovely to look at. I did buy a battery upgrade though as we do cover 50 plus miles at a time. I don't regret the investment and will enjoy long rides and steep hills with a smile on my face.

TOBA i7 with Suspension

What an amazing bike

by Liz on 26 Oct 2017

What an amazing bike, I've had this for a month now and thoroughly enjoy cycling it. It really makes light work of cycling in the head-on wind, even in the wind and the rain I've used it to commute to work every day. Charles at  Shoreham has so much knowledge on all the bikes and he quickly identified the right bike for me without the pushy sales pitch. There are also some great routes to take from the shop to test drive the bikes too. I love my bike, everyone needs at least one e-bike in their life.

TOBA i7 with Suspension

Over the moon

by Deb on 26 Oct 2017

Over the moon with the bike, spent a long time deciding which bike to get, asked lots of questions and had very quick professional replies from the staff  at 50 cycles. The bike arrived very quickly, easy to put together and I was able to ride on the same day! Brill! I would not hesitate to recommend the bike and 50 cycles.

TOBA i7 with Suspension

50cycles Beat bike 2.2

by Rebecca on 3 Nov 2017

50cycles Beat bike 2.2
I have bought their beat bike 2.2 step through after taking the advice to find a bike right for me. Being a woman in my late 50's who is unfit, I was looking for a bike for both fitness and enjoyment. This bike gives me the confidence to ride good distances without hesitation due to its long power assist when required at differing levels and leaves me feeling exercised without exhaustion. As for 50cycles as a company, they have been exceptional with their purchase and after-sales service. They are friendly but also professional.

Rebecca, Kent

TOBA I7

At this price there is no reason to procrastinate

by Martyn on 9 Mar 2018

The Toba I7 is a great value electric bike with or without front fork suspension. At this price there is no reason to procrastinate. I've had the bike long enough now to really appreciate its build quality and comfort on roads and tracks (some quite uneven). The shop at Shoreham is friendly and helpful. Try out the bike and see for yourself.

Mountain Bikes


REACTION HYBRID Pro Allroad 500 27.5

A brilliant bike

by Tim on 4 Apr 2018

The Cube Reaction Hybrid Pro 500 is a brilliant bike and I have been using it for carrying/pulling two kids aged 6 and 8. I do the school run at least three times a week plus taking kids to things at the weekend. I have it set up with a Bobike Junior child seat and pulling along an Islabike using a FollowMe attachment. So it has been working hard while my wife has the car. This means we remain a one car family. It's also great fun when I get the chance to zip off without the kids!

Winora


Yakun Urban

Wizard Winora

by John on 6 Feb 2018

Bought the Yakun Tour as a retirement present to get me out and about and it's certainly delivered. It's a quality bike. 1500 miles so far up and down the pesky Chiltern Hills, along roads, cycle paths, muddy lanes and flinty tracks and no punctures so far! Fitted an Ortlieb trunk bag and Zefal spy mirror which complement the look.

The Yamaha PW-X drive is very impressive. Pottering along on ECO will give almost 100 mile range but this bike is addictive and just loves going past a bit of lycra uphill. Use STD or HIGH and 50-70 miles is more realistic. It likes a reasonably high cadence and the gears took me a few days to master as my previous e-bike had a Currie motor driving the rear wheel and could just be left in top gear - until the batteries died after little more than 10 miles. Disc brakes are very powerful and just a squeeze with a little finger is all that is required.

The lights too are very good. The front automatically brightens when going through subways or avenues of trees in country lanes. Never had a bike with suspension before. The ride is still quite firm but well controlled helped by the big Almotion tyres that have a surprisingly low rolling resistance. Can't stop smiling!

Yakun Tour

Very Good

by E-Bike Test Focus on 4 May 2017

E-bike Test Focus Yakun ReviewThe distinctive Winora is unique in many ways. With wide 27.5-inch tires, it offers a good balance of maneuverability and rolling behavior; Rarely in this vehicle class are the axles, which fix the wheels exactly, instead of quick-release.

The Yamaha engine, which is particularly strong on the mountain and when starting, is combined with a 2 × 10-speed chain shifting. For this purpose, he pushes up a useful speed range up to above 26 km / h. The agile Yakun is very sporty with a soft-responsive suspension fork and extremely strong, although well-adjustable disc brakes. The seating is comfortable, the handlebar is quite wide. Great idea: the trailer coupling integrated into the frame.

Yakun Tour

Yakun on Tour

by Nick on 27 May 2017

Glad you liked the pictures, just to add this bike is an absolute dream to ride, as you said you can use the power as much or as little as you want as with the 20 gears you can still work up a good sweat but knowing at the end if you want that help then the power this bike belts out is phenomenal.

To be honest anyone out there thinking about an electric bike then in my opinion you can't go wrong with this one, fun times ahead

 

 

 

Haibike


SDURO Trekking 5.0 men

Delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0

by Nick on 8 May 2017

The personal attention and customer service delivered by 50 cycles was exceptional. My thanks go to Anthony, Chloe and Nathan for providing me with detailed and comprehensive advice and support throughout my selection and purchase. I am now the delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0 and I have every confidence in recommending this company to those interested in buying an electric bike.

Cube


Cross Hybrid Race Allroad 500

Superb bike

by Neil on 28 Nov 2017

Having recently bought the AllRoad 500 from Reece at Altrincham and just returned from my first ride of 30 miles it was superb. The bike is comfortable to ride handles as well as my Cube cross hybrid. Can ride it without electric and the range is good too. Riding in Eco mode I covered 30miles and there was still 39 miles range still showing. All round very pleased with the bike and the service from Reece at Altrincham.

Cross Hybrid Race Allroad 500

Opened up cycling for me again

by Simon on 22 May 2018

I walked into 50 Cycles in Bristol without a clue about what I was looking for (well, apart from an electric bike!). Luiz could not have been more helpful: his expertise guided me to this machine. I took a test ride, and was hooked. The bike feels like a regular hybrid bicycle, and does not look like an electric bike. The 11 speed cassette provides a broad span of gearing for most, of not all situations. The CX electric motor is excellent and, set in eMTB mode, selects from "Tour" or "Turbo" depending on how much effort you are putting through the pedals. In the particularly hilly part of Monmouthshire where I live, it is ideal. My only concern is the range: my wife's Kalkhoff seems to provide vast amounts of reserve power, whereas the maximum I can achieve in "Eco" mode is about 42 miles: in "eMTB" less than 20. I might need to invest in a double battery set up. But all in all, an excellent machine and a great sales and after sales service from Luiz at 50 Cycles Bristol.

REACTION HYBRID Pro Allroad 500 27.5

A brilliant bike

by Tim on 4 Apr 2018

The Cube Reaction Hybrid Pro 500 is a brilliant bike and I have been using it for carrying/pulling two kids aged 6 and 8. I do the school run at least three times a week plus taking kids to things at the weekend. I have it set up with a Bobike Junior child seat and pulling along an Islabike using a FollowMe attachment. So it has been working hard while my wife has the car. This means we remain a one car family. It's also great fun when I get the chance to zip off without the kids!

Quality Electric Bikes Supplier

First Class Service

We specialise in providing the best electric bikes and the smartest cycling accessories in the UK. We also offer the most responsive and knowledgeable after sales service.

Find out more

Finance Options Available

All our new bikes are available to buy with interest-free finance (typical 0% APR). You can ease the cost of ownership by paying a deposit and choosing one of our finance packages when checking out.

Find out more

Book a Test Ride

Sometimes it takes a test ride to understand what an e-bike can do for you. Please visit one of our showrooms or take a test ride with a local Kalkhoff owner who's also a demonstrator

Find out more