• Blog

The UK's Advanced
Electric Bike Experts
since 2003

Electric Bike Reviews

Here at 50cycles, we love getting feedback from our customers. Rather than keeping all of your kind words to ourselves, we thought we'd share them with you.

On this page, you'll find real reviews from real riders; find out what they love about their electric bike, what they use it for and why they chose it! You never know, the reviews might just help you decide on the best electric bike for your lifestyle. You'll also find more reviews of the bikes on their individual products pages.

Sports E-bikes


Cross Hybrid Race Allroad 500

Superb bike

by Neil on 28 Nov 2017

Having recently bought the AllRoad 500 from Reece at Altrincham and just returned from my first ride of 30 miles it was superb. The bike is comfortable to ride handles as well as my Cube cross hybrid. Can ride it without electric and the range is good too. Riding in Eco mode I covered 30miles and there was still 39 miles range still showing. All round very pleased with the bike and the service from Reece at Altrincham.

Yakun Urban

Wizard Winora

by John on 6 Feb 2018

Bought the Yakun Tour as a retirement present to get me out and about and it's certainly delivered. It's a quality bike. 1500 miles so far up and down the pesky Chiltern Hills, along roads, cycle paths, muddy lanes and flinty tracks and no punctures so far! Fitted an Ortlieb trunk bag and Zefal spy mirror which complement the look.

The Yamaha PW-X drive is very impressive. Pottering along on ECO will give almost 100 mile range but this bike is addictive and just loves going past a bit of lycra uphill. Use STD or HIGH and 50-70 miles is more realistic. It likes a reasonably high cadence and the gears took me a few days to master as my previous e-bike had a Currie motor driving the rear wheel and could just be left in top gear - until the batteries died after little more than 10 miles. Disc brakes are very powerful and just a squeeze with a little finger is all that is required.

The lights too are very good. The front automatically brightens when going through subways or avenues of trees in country lanes. Never had a bike with suspension before. The ride is still quite firm but well controlled helped by the big Almotion tyres that have a surprisingly low rolling resistance. Can't stop smiling!

Yakun Tour

Very Good

by E-Bike Test Focus on 4 May 2017

E-bike Test Focus Yakun ReviewThe distinctive Winora is unique in many ways. With wide 27.5-inch tires, it offers a good balance of maneuverability and rolling behavior; Rarely in this vehicle class are the axles, which fix the wheels exactly, instead of quick-release.

The Yamaha engine, which is particularly strong on the mountain and when starting, is combined with a 2 × 10-speed chain shifting. For this purpose, he pushes up a useful speed range up to above 26 km / h. The agile Yakun is very sporty with a soft-responsive suspension fork and extremely strong, although well-adjustable disc brakes. The seating is comfortable, the handlebar is quite wide. Great idea: the trailer coupling integrated into the frame.

Yakun Tour

Yakun on Tour

by Nick on 27 May 2017

Glad you liked the pictures, just to add this bike is an absolute dream to ride, as you said you can use the power as much or as little as you want as with the 20 gears you can still work up a good sweat but knowing at the end if you want that help then the power this bike belts out is phenomenal.

To be honest anyone out there thinking about an electric bike then in my opinion you can't go wrong with this one, fun times ahead

 

 

 

SDURO Trekking 5.0 men

Delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0

by Nick on 8 May 2017

The personal attention and customer service delivered by 50 cycles was exceptional. My thanks go to Anthony, Chloe and Nathan for providing me with detailed and comprehensive advice and support throughout my selection and purchase. I am now the delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0 and I have every confidence in recommending this company to those interested in buying an electric bike.

Toba Crossbar

I can't begin to describe how happy I am :)

by Michael Harding on 19 Sep 2016

Pedelec is great, really pleased with it. German engineering at its very best, really well made, everything about it oozes quality. Handover was good when I collected it, all checked over and set up and helpful hints and tips on battery etc. I have various digestive issues which means I can't eat enough to maintain my weight if I burn off too many calories on long bike rides on a standard bike. So this is going to be a life changer for me, can't begin to describe how happy I am :)

Toba Crossbar

My First Electric Bike and Not Dissapointed

by Chris Osgood on 20 Sep 2016

I've ben toying with the idea of an electric bike for some time now as my back is giving up and I was finding it difficult to keep up with the family. I had researched many of the bikes on the market and some were really heavy and some were conversion types so not specifically built for the electric purpose.

I popped into the Bristol 50 Cycles shop when visiting my son earlier this month and was impressed firstly by the helpfulness of the staff and then by the quality of the Kalkoff product. I had looked at Kalkoff on line but not been able to actually inspect one until now. I didn't place an order straight away but did so more or less as soon as I got back home. Again the staff couldn't have been more helpful and arranged delivery to Jersey a few days later.

Having now made a few of trips out on my Pro Connect it is excellent. The ride without power is smooth and with power is better than I had hoped for. Brilliant and the many hills here no longer phase me. The build quality, as you would expect for the money, seems first class and there is even a pump discretely hidden on the inside of the pannier rack. First impressions are excellent and thanks to Anthony Douglas and Harry Gyurgyak at 50 Cycles, Bristol for all the help.

Toba Crossbar

Really good indeed

by Kevin on 12 Aug 2017

Just cycled over 700 miles on this superb bike. The 60 frame is an absolute winner for tall people like me and is such a smooth ride at 15mph. Been along canal paths , busy roads, cycle paths and all over the Yorkshire moors. Fantastic in the rain handles very well.. This bike travels very well up the steepest hills and I find the pedal assist helps your all over balance when going up hills etc.. Highly recommended, 5 stars.

Commuter E-Bikes


Yakun Urban

Wizard Winora

by John on 6 Feb 2018

Bought the Yakun Tour as a retirement present to get me out and about and it's certainly delivered. It's a quality bike. 1500 miles so far up and down the pesky Chiltern Hills, along roads, cycle paths, muddy lanes and flinty tracks and no punctures so far! Fitted an Ortlieb trunk bag and Zefal spy mirror which complement the look.

The Yamaha PW-X drive is very impressive. Pottering along on ECO will give almost 100 mile range but this bike is addictive and just loves going past a bit of lycra uphill. Use STD or HIGH and 50-70 miles is more realistic. It likes a reasonably high cadence and the gears took me a few days to master as my previous e-bike had a Currie motor driving the rear wheel and could just be left in top gear - until the batteries died after little more than 10 miles. Disc brakes are very powerful and just a squeeze with a little finger is all that is required.

The lights too are very good. The front automatically brightens when going through subways or avenues of trees in country lanes. Never had a bike with suspension before. The ride is still quite firm but well controlled helped by the big Almotion tyres that have a surprisingly low rolling resistance. Can't stop smiling!

Integrale i8

Enjoying life on my Kalkhoff

by Gareth on 6 Dec 2016

Recently purchased a Kalkhoff Integrale 8 Belt. I’m a heavy chap, rather unfit and thought an e bike would be a good option. Some 40 miles later I can give some initial feedback.

Day one saw the first test, a hill near my house which is so steep people even hate to walk it – the Kalkhoff just flew up with little effort. The next was a hill known as “heartbreak hill” as labelled by Ironman contestants - ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xXtkaDvhINs ) Again the Integrale simply flew up with ease.

Anthony at Bristol cycles told me I’d never have to leave the saddle on a hill and he was right. I’m so enjoying this bike and there have been a few comical moments with pedestrians encouraging me as I cycle past them on a hill as they don’t realise it’s an electric bike. You do have to peddle and it does get your heart rate going and this is good.

As for range – this varies depending on hills, careful use of gears, assist level and at the moment my weight. The more I ride it the better the battery life I think. I bought two Orbitel panniers, which are ideal. The ride is comfortable and the bike itself just looks amazing and attracts a lot of attention when parked up. I’ve not cycled for years but cycling around my town or countryside its great to be able to stop and chat to people I know – you miss so much in a vehicle.

The service at 50 Cycles is excellent and my post purchase questions were dealt with promptly so a big thank you. Looks like a second bike for my wife in the coming weeks.

Integrale i8

Brilliant buy

by Andrew Thorpe on 6 Dec 2016

Given the expense of the bike I had some misgivings, wondering whether I would use it much. I have now had it almost 4 months and all worries have gone. I had not cycled for 30 years but having lost a lot of weight and got fitter I wanted to have a go at cycling again.

I live in a very hilly are and that was putting me off so I decided to go for an electric bike. On my first ride out I did 25 miles up and down some long very steep hills and had only 10 minutes rest halfway. Since then I have started to use the bike with the power turned off on flat roads only using the power at various levels when I need to. This makes for a nice relaxed ride but is still helping to keep me fit. I now ride to work (when not raining) which does involve some steep inclines but on the 4 mile journey it is almost as quick and using the car.

The bike itself is solid and well made. I have had no problems at all and am loving owning it. My partner has also purchased and electric bike from 50 cycles and we are looking forward to the warmer weather. We have been loving our short day rides and have alepready booked a holiday where we will be taking the bikes on the Thule towbar carrier also purchased from 50 cycles.

Integrale i8

Makes it so easy

by Tony Jordan on 6 Dec 2016

After taking up the offer of test rides on a couple of the Kalkoff bikes at Bristol I cycled up the infamous Park Street in Bristol and the bikes made it so easy. Having thought long and hard and compared other brands, I have bought a Integrale 8 speed from 50cycles and any second thoughts about buying such an expensive bike have faded away, such is the quality of the bike and its amazing performance. The advice and after sales help from Anthony at Bristol has been excellent. After a month of cycling around Exeter, I am consciously finding reasons to get on the bike and use it instead of the car, so easy is the bike to use.

Integrale i8

"Hill, what hill?"

by Roger on 6 Dec 2016

I am the proud owner of one of the first Kalkhoff Integrale 8 LTDs in the UK. It’s design is clean, purposeful and indeed “integrated”. Once I had adjusted everything to fit my short-legged frame, I went on a 30 mile cycle including some of the steepest gradients on the North Downs near Sevenoaks in Kent, including Carter Hill at 17.5%. The Integrale simply went “Hill? What hill?” as it’s 80nm of torque powered me up at an indicated 7.5 mph. Going down hills and hitting 30 mph I have never felt so safe on a bike. Everything from the frame to the Shimano disc brakes felt completely sorted.

On this ride I deliberately keep the power assistance on “Ultra” most of the time so I could complete the first discharge learning cycle for the battery as soon as possible. Even then, it took me 40 miles before running out of juice.

Finally, a word of thanks to the 50 Cycles team, who were really helpful when I was scratching my head working out how to adjust handlebars and seat posts!

Integrale i8

Integrale i8

by David Wheatley on 28 Mar 2017

3 months in and 400 miles on the clock. What an amazing bike. This is my 2nd Kalkhoff from 50 Cycles and I'm still impressed by both firms. The customer service from 50 Cycles shows other firms how it's done. The bike looks and feels the biz

Integrale i8

Zuperbike

by Den Boles on 1 Feb 2018

Got my i8 integrale in August 15. Thought i should comment as I have just completed 3000 miles. Apart from a few minor normal running renewables such as new brake pads there have been no mechanical.issues. This bike runs as well now as the day I bought it. What a brilliant machine. Takes everything in it's stride. Long hills and steep hills no problem. Head winds no problem. Totally recommend it. Knocking on a bit now, just passed 76 birthday. Don't know if it will add years to my life but certainly has added life to my years. Great to be able to get out and enjoy cycling like I always have throughout my life. Thanks Kalkhoff

Activity E-Bikes


Agattu Premium 8G

Great!

by Dorothee on 6 Dec 2015

I bought this bike in October and I have become a big fan! I use it to replace the car as much as possible. Hills and wind are not a problem anymore, what s delight!....As mentioned in an previous email , I finish my ride not sweaty and so happy to have been outside. It is heavy but when you are on it , you do not feel the weight anymore and it is an absolute pleasure to cycle.

We are very lucky with the network of cycle paths close to where I live i must say and it allows me to make the most of it. I have to be honest and say that I use it in 'power' mode most of the time as I find the 'sport' and 'eco' modes a bit slow when I compare it with my normal touring bike which I have used quite a lot but this is my personal feeling. I do not regret having bought this bike at all. It will motivate me to use the car less and save on petrol, still exercise and be outside. Let' s hope that in the long run , they become affordable to more people so we can all enjoy cycling and do our good for the planet.

TOBA i7 with Suspension

Great bike

by Carol on 4 Oct 2017

This is a great bike - beautifully built. Comes complete - packaging amazing and only had to add the pedals. It's heavy but you don't feel that because of the pedal assist and that is essential for managing the hills in the south Pennines. It manages the steepest of hills without having to get off and walk but also gives you the exercise benefits of cycling. I wish I had bought one  years  ago.

TOBA i7 with Suspension

I didn't know cycling could be so much fun!

by Jane Bailey on 23 Oct 2017

50 Cycles weren't our first port of call for electric bikes but it was our last! Anthony was helpful, patient and knowledgeable and the quality of the product spoke for itself.

I'm a fit 50 with a keen cycling partner and our long cycle rides have reduced me to tears on relentless hills - no more! We have a steep long local hill that I have never managed to get up as it is steepest at the bottom. So having picked up my bike on Saturday I put it to the test yesterday. Wow! It was just brilliant, I still work but it takes out the pain. It is a lovely secure feeling ride even at over 30mph.

The bike is so easy to get to grips with and lovely to look at. I did buy a battery upgrade though as we do cover 50 plus miles at a time. I don't regret the investment and will enjoy long rides and steep hills with a smile on my face.

TOBA i7 with Suspension

What an amazing bike

by Liz on 26 Oct 2017

What an amazing bike, I've had this for a month now and thoroughly enjoy cycling it. It really makes light work of cycling in the head-on wind, even in the wind and the rain I've used it to commute to work every day. Charles at  Shoreham has so much knowledge on all the bikes and he quickly identified the right bike for me without the pushy sales pitch. There are also some great routes to take from the shop to test drive the bikes too. I love my bike, everyone needs at least one e-bike in their life.

TOBA i7 with Suspension

Over the moon

by Deb on 26 Oct 2017

Over the moon with the bike, spent a long time deciding which bike to get, asked lots of questions and had very quick professional replies from the staff  at 50 cycles. The bike arrived very quickly, easy to put together and I was able to ride on the same day! Brill! I would not hesitate to recommend the bike and 50 cycles.

TOBA i7 with Suspension

50cycles Beat bike 2.2

by Rebecca on 3 Nov 2017

50cycles Beat bike 2.2
I have bought their beat bike 2.2 step through after taking the advice to find a bike right for me. Being a woman in my late 50's who is unfit, I was looking for a bike for both fitness and enjoyment. This bike gives me the confidence to ride good distances without hesitation due to its long power assist when required at differing levels and leaves me feeling exercised without exhaustion. As for 50cycles as a company, they have been exceptional with their purchase and after-sales service. They are friendly but also professional.

Rebecca, Kent

TOBA I7 (with Suspension)

I didn't need one - I just wanted one!

by John Casswell on 26 Oct 2017

I didn't need an electric bike as already own 5 standard ones and have been a cyclist all my life- but- after trying them when we came to Bristol with perspective buyers I didn't want to miss out on the fun. These bikes are serious fun!

I justified it by saying I would be left behind now if my partner had one. They are the perfect accessory for our motorhome as we can get to any nearby city, town NT property or event with ease and arrive fresh even if it's hilly. These bikes come into their own on a hill. 

I didn't want a bike that looked like an electric bike. This is smart with its matt back frame and red detailing. It cycles well too even without the battery. 

Anthony has so much product knowledge and is has been great at answering questions on line as well as in person. There is no need to hard sell as the quality of the products speak for themselves. The ability to try before you buy is great. I had no intention of buying! No regrets though, it's lovely to go out on rides and not think about how many climbs are to be faced! Thanks 50 Cycles.

TOBA I7 (with Suspension)

I can't begin to describe how happy I am :)

by Michael Harding on 26 Oct 2017

Pedelec is great, really pleased with it. German engineering at its very best, really well made, everything about it oozes quality. The handover was good when I collected it, all checked over and set up and helpful hints and tips on battery etc. I have various digestive issues which means I can't eat enough to maintain my weight if I burn off too many calories on long bike rides on a standard bike. So this is going to be a life changer for me, can't begin to describe how happy I am :)

TOBA I7 (with Suspension)

My First Electric Bike and Not Disappointed

by Chris Osgood on 26 Oct 2017

I've ben toying with the idea of an electric bike for some time now as my back is giving up and I was finding it difficult to keep up with the family. I had researched many of the bikes on the market and some were really heavy and some were conversion types so not specifically built for the electric purpose.

I popped into the Bristol 50 Cycles shop when visiting my son earlier this month and was impressed firstly by the helpfulness of the staff and then by the quality of the Kalkoff product. I had looked at Kalkoff online but not been able to actually inspect one until now. I didn't place an order straight away but did so more or less as soon as I got back home. Again the staff couldn't have been more helpful and arranged delivery to Jersey a few days later.

Having now made a few of trips out on my Pro Connect it is excellent. The ride without power is smooth and with power is better than I had hoped for. Brilliant and the many hills here no longer phase me. The build quality, as you would expect for the money, seems first class and there is even a pump discretely hidden on the inside of the pannier rack. First impressions are excellent and thanks to Anthony Douglas and Harry Gyurgyak at 50 Cycles, Bristol for all the help.

TOBA I7 (with Suspension)

Mr

by James Callard on 26 Dec 2017

Well what can I say but “WOW”. We are pensioners who have been riding DAWES Trail Hybrids for 9years, but due to failing health was finding it too difficult to continue. SO! We looked locally (southwest Cornwall) for pedal assist bikes, one shop could not get us the model of the demonstrator he let us try, another would not let us try out the model that we would have wanted to buy (they had a totally different demonstrator bike), and the 3rd shop had convinced us to buy our bikes from them, so we went back them (the other side of the county) with the rack on the car to pick them up only to be told we couldn’t take them away because the brakes were the wrong way round for UK bikes and the co-owner did not know how to change them over, so we gave up and went home without them. 50cycles.com Company Review! Then when we got home my wife discovered 50cycles.com.

Our point of contact with them was “Cloe” who could not have been more helpful answering all of our questions and concerns. Having chosen the particular models we wanted we had a couple of problems with the availability of the sizes in those models we had chosen, but Cloe went to great lengths to ensure we got what we wanted and were happy with the options offered. We placed the order with them that day and the following day the cycles arrived.

Now the Product Review.  Our choice was my wife’s Kalkoff Agattu i7 HS and my Beatbike TOBA I7, we have had them for a month now, long enough to appraise their worth and I can tell you they do not disappoint the 17 Ah, 36v, 612 Wh, 50 cell battery with the new Kalkoff 2.2 impulse motor provides excellent power assistance when needed, which being pensioners is often on going up hills, I can well believe that our 100 miles is possible when our fitness level improves. Was not to sure about the Twist grip gears as we had Shimano Easyfire before but got use to them very quickly. We are so happy that these bikes give us the exercise without the exhaustion. Riding these bikes is such a joy that we cannot stop grinning whilst on them, it has made all the difference as to whether we continued cycling or packed it in. We averaged 60+ miles on our charge that came with the bikes, and in our unfit state having not cycled much this year, which obviously meant a lot of high power use. OK in summary. In my opinion 50cycles.com and aspecialy “CLOE” at Loughborough are second to none in the sales and customer service in the business of selling bicycles and particularly electric bikes. Would recommend this company to anyone. Thank you 50cycles.com (Cloe).

Agattu i7 HS

I didn't know cycling could be so much fun!

by Jane Bailey on 14 Dec 2015

50 Cycles wasn't our first port of call for electric bikes but it was our last! Anthony was helpful, patient and knowledgable and the quality of the product spoke for itself.

I'm a fit 50 with a keen cycling partner and our long cycle rides have reduced me to tears on relentless hills - no more! We have a steep long local hill that I have never managed to get up as it is steepest at the bottom. So having picked up my bike on Saturday I put it to the test yesterday. Wow! It was just brilliant, I still work but it takes out the pain. It is a lovely secure feeling ride even at over 30mph.

The bike is so easy to get to grips with and lovely to look at. I did buy a battery upgrade though as we do cover 50 plus miles at a time. I don't regret the investment and will enjoy long rides and steep hills with a smile on my face.

Agattu i7 HS

Review of Kalkhoff Agattu

by Liz on 16 Jan 2016

What an amazing bike, I've had this for a month now and thoroughly enjoy cycling it. It really makes light work of cycling in head on wind, even in the wind and the rain I've used it to commute to work every day. Charles at Shorham has so much knowledge on all the bikes and he quickly identified the right bike for me without the pushy sales pitch. There's also some great routes to take from the shop to test drive the bikes too. I love my bike, everyone needs at least one e-bike in their life.

Agattu i7 HS

Agattu 7g

by Deb on 20 Feb 2016

Over the moon with the bike, spent along time deciding which bike to get, asked lots of questions and had very quick professional replies from staff at 50 cycles. The bike arrived very quickly, easy to put together and I was able to ride on the same day! Brill! I would not hesitate to recommend the bike and 50 cycles.

Agattu i7 HS

Great bike

by Carol on 13 Apr 2016

This is a great bike - beautifully built. Comes complete - packaging amazing and only had to add the pedals. It's heavy but you don't feel that because of the pedal assist and that is essential for managing the hills in the south Pennines. It manages the steepest of hills without having to get off and walk but also gives you the exercise benefits of cycling. I wish I had bought one years ago.

Tasman i8

Back cycling again and superb city commuter bike

by Esh Mahenthiralingam on 7 Feb 2017

Bought bike online after a phone discussion with Anthony who confirmed that a hub geared bike and something like the Tasman would suit my city cycling commute. The bike arrived along ready to go and just needed to charge battery fully. First commute to work was just amazing and I arrived with a big smile on my face. It took 55 miles to run the battery down for the first time on full power mode. Overall, I think it's the best thing I ever bought and it's great to get back on a bike for communing, but without all the sweat and bother if you don't want it - just power up or down with the assist mode. Looking forward to many more miles on what is a real quality piece of kit.

Tasman i8

Impulse cycling

by Steve Richards on 11 Feb 2017

I've always enjoyed participating in sport but in recent years I've had to stop playing golf and running as my arthritis was just getting too painful. I was then looking for another outdoor activity where I could enjoy myself and keep up a reasonable level of fitness for someone 65+

I started researching electric bikes and came across the 50cycles store in Bristol quite by chance while I was out shopping. I spoke to the store manager Anthony Douglas who was very helpful and arranged for me to have a test ride. From that moment I was hooked and came back into the store and ordered a Kalkhoff Tasman Impulse electric bike.

I've now clocked up 400 miles in 4 months and have absolutely loved my new found freedom. I can now effortlessly climb hills and I can be far more adventurous in cycling longer routes on our local cycle paths and trails with very little effort. I also appreciate the excellent build quality of a Kalkhoff bike and would thoroughly recommend one to anyone who just wants to go out on a bike ride and enjoy our countryside in comfort.

Mountain Bikes


E-Aspect 920

Scott easpect 920

by Lawrence on 9 Jul 2017

Thanks to Frankie for all her help. I'm very happy with the bike I've rode up some steep hills and actually enjoyed it. I waited awhile before making the leap due to design of the bikes and a bit of pride. The bike is superb and I'm more than happy to recommend the bristol store as frankie is very knowledgeable and professional.

E-Aspect 920

All I needed for a good day out

by Electricbikeman on 31 Oct 2017

SCOTT E-ASPECT 920 REVIEW

Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike

Bike Overview

The Scott E-Aspect 920‘s most notable feature is its sleek design with the very neat mid-drive motor blending nicely into the frame and the integrated downtube batteries.

Scott has a long history of manufacturing high-quality e-bike and these days have a wide of range to choose from. Motor manufacturers Brose are relatively late entrants to the e-MTB market and came to prominence by partnering with fellow German mountain bike manufacturers Rotwild.

Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike

The motor itself is known as being relatively lightweight (stated weight is around 3.4kg), very quiet and with a good power to weight ratio. It’s worth noting that, like Yamaha, Brose allow e-bike manufacturers to tune the software of the motor themselves so no two Brose bike models will necessarily be the same (though they will share the broad performance characteristics of the motor). The battery is an industry standard 504Wh capacity and made by respected and reliable German battery manufacturer BMZ.

Before I get onto the riding qualities and capabilities, here’s a quick walk round review of the E-Aspect.

At around 22kg the bike is a pretty good weight for an e-MTB and again the minimalist design stands out when looking at the details. The combined info display and handlebar control is superb for easy control of the three power levels and has a backlight for night riding too or strong sunlight. It displays only your speed in mph and has a battery capacity indicator and a small of squares showing what your power level is. And that’s it. If you want more info you’ll have to look at other systems and if your eyesight isn’t fairly acute you might have difficulty picking out the details other than the speed. But for a minimalist display it’s the sleekest we’ve seen and the rocker swith to move power levels up and down is dead easy to use.

Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike

As you would expect from any modern e-MTB the bike has several features that add to the strength of the bike and have been common developments over many MTBs in recent years, namely the through-axle on the rear of the bike and the semi-integrated headset. Such features are mainly there to add strength to these parts of the bike and so you can rest assured in terms of reliability and strength this model is pretty much industry standard.
There are also technical developments meant to improve riding such as the small ‘clutch’ mechanism’ on the rear Shadow Plus 10 speed derailleur. This is meant to stop the chain coming off.

There is a huge amount written about the various aspects of MTB frame geometry, wheel size and its effect on bike handling. This is written by very highly-skilled riders who may (or may not) really be able to tell subtle differences between frame designs etc. I’m not an expert rider so I’ll outline the basics of this hardtail design: being a hardtail it’s aimed at more moderate trails, but that said it’s surprising the terrain it will tackle if you simply run the tyres at a low pressure (see below). It has a moderate amount of travel in the front suspension forks – around 100mm – so it’s not meant for dropping off big rock steps, especially with very heavy riders on board, but again see below for the pretty rough terrain it was able to tackle. Lastly it has 29″ wheels. These roll over bumps slightly more easily than the two other size wheels commonly used on MTBs, 26″ and latterly 27.5″. 29″ wheels are great for stable handling and also longer rides on forest roads and canal towpaths and the like. In short this is a bike aimed at someone getting into e-MTBing and who likes forest trails and wider paths but will also want to mix it up with some rougher riding from time to time, without going to the extremes of e-MTBing where smaller wheels might make for nimbler handling, assuming you are already pretty handy with the e-MTB skills. Again, the E-Apect’s 10 derailleur gears aren’t designed to give the maximum gear range available (11 and 12 speed derailleur systems are available) but 10 is plenty for moderate and rougher trail use – especially as the powerful motor here largely compensates for the lack of an extremely low ‘granny gear’.
Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike

My only real was common to a most hardtail e-MTBs: the lack of mounting points for a rear rack. With that you would be able to have a bike capable of rough-stuff type touring as well as e-MTB day riding. Of course, it’s possible to mount racks using fittings such as p-clips and seatpost clamps but they aren’t really an elegant solution). There’s a also a word of warning that the E-Aspect is best ridden in shorts or skin-hugging lycra-style leggings – de rigeur for most ‘serious’ MTBers you see out on the trail. The reason is that the chain keeper over the front chainring can act as a trap for loose clothing.

On the Trail

We start off whizzing along the Huddersfield Narrow Canal towpath in Greater Manchester’s Tame Valley. My test bike is the large frame model with around a 48cm frame measurement but it’s still perfectly comfortable in a relaxed sitting position a I scoot along the wonderfully attractive towpath.
Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike    Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike

The real test comes climbing out of the attractive Lancastrian old weavers’ village of Diggle on the wonderful Pennine Bridleway. There’s a long steady climb of around 150m / 550ft of climbing and I notice all the MTBs we encounter are going down the hill not up it!
The trail proves an ideal test for the E-Aspect – there are rocks and very small rock steps, a few ruts and mud but this National Trail has been made with the average MTB rider in mind rather than the expert fanatic.
I quickly realise the Brose motor is plenty powerful enough for climbing here; its just a matter of picking the right course, keeping weight over the back wheel on the steeper sections and keeping pedalling.

The power delivery is extremely intuitive and enhanced by the quietness of the motor; whisper quiet in power level one and with only a quiet whirr in levels two and three. If you want to know more about how it works, complete with an explanation of belt drive, epicyclic gears and triple sensor technology check out the video below.

The practical upshot is the ability to climb trails like the following that I would struggle to ride up without assistance, and as the man in the video says, the smooth power delivery feels like it’s in perfect harmony with your own human power input. Level two provides plenty of power to get by right to the top so no doubt the bike would easily tackle much stiffer climbs than this too, subject to my ability to stay on the bike…Also level one is useful for smoother, less steep sections and lets you get a decent amount of exercise too.

A final point worth making about the Brose motor is that even above the assisted cut-off speed of 15.5mph it still feels pretty good to pedal; moreso than many other centre motors that I’ve tried.

All in all the Scott E-Aspect is one of slickest, quietest and easiest to handle e-MTBs out there and is highly recommended.

 

E-Scale 930

Totally amazed, best thing I have ever had

by Amber Draper on 26 Jan 2018

I have been blown away by this bike. No hill too hard for it,cycled the Lake District passes. Holds its charge very well, handles beautifully. Quick to recharge. Yes, it’s heavy but when riding it, you don’t notice this. The down side is that I can’t help myself, I am overtaking all the fit young men on road bikes. Husband so amazed that he now has the identical bike.

Scott


E-Aspect 920

Scott easpect 920

by Lawrence on 9 Jul 2017

Thanks to Frankie for all her help. I'm very happy with the bike I've rode up some steep hills and actually enjoyed it. I waited awhile before making the leap due to design of the bikes and a bit of pride. The bike is superb and I'm more than happy to recommend the bristol store as frankie is very knowledgeable and professional.

E-Aspect 920

All I needed for a good day out

by Electricbikeman on 31 Oct 2017

SCOTT E-ASPECT 920 REVIEW

Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike

Bike Overview

The Scott E-Aspect 920‘s most notable feature is its sleek design with the very neat mid-drive motor blending nicely into the frame and the integrated downtube batteries.

Scott has a long history of manufacturing high-quality e-bike and these days have a wide of range to choose from. Motor manufacturers Brose are relatively late entrants to the e-MTB market and came to prominence by partnering with fellow German mountain bike manufacturers Rotwild.

Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike

The motor itself is known as being relatively lightweight (stated weight is around 3.4kg), very quiet and with a good power to weight ratio. It’s worth noting that, like Yamaha, Brose allow e-bike manufacturers to tune the software of the motor themselves so no two Brose bike models will necessarily be the same (though they will share the broad performance characteristics of the motor). The battery is an industry standard 504Wh capacity and made by respected and reliable German battery manufacturer BMZ.

Before I get onto the riding qualities and capabilities, here’s a quick walk round review of the E-Aspect.

At around 22kg the bike is a pretty good weight for an e-MTB and again the minimalist design stands out when looking at the details. The combined info display and handlebar control is superb for easy control of the three power levels and has a backlight for night riding too or strong sunlight. It displays only your speed in mph and has a battery capacity indicator and a small of squares showing what your power level is. And that’s it. If you want more info you’ll have to look at other systems and if your eyesight isn’t fairly acute you might have difficulty picking out the details other than the speed. But for a minimalist display it’s the sleekest we’ve seen and the rocker swith to move power levels up and down is dead easy to use.

Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike

As you would expect from any modern e-MTB the bike has several features that add to the strength of the bike and have been common developments over many MTBs in recent years, namely the through-axle on the rear of the bike and the semi-integrated headset. Such features are mainly there to add strength to these parts of the bike and so you can rest assured in terms of reliability and strength this model is pretty much industry standard.
There are also technical developments meant to improve riding such as the small ‘clutch’ mechanism’ on the rear Shadow Plus 10 speed derailleur. This is meant to stop the chain coming off.

There is a huge amount written about the various aspects of MTB frame geometry, wheel size and its effect on bike handling. This is written by very highly-skilled riders who may (or may not) really be able to tell subtle differences between frame designs etc. I’m not an expert rider so I’ll outline the basics of this hardtail design: being a hardtail it’s aimed at more moderate trails, but that said it’s surprising the terrain it will tackle if you simply run the tyres at a low pressure (see below). It has a moderate amount of travel in the front suspension forks – around 100mm – so it’s not meant for dropping off big rock steps, especially with very heavy riders on board, but again see below for the pretty rough terrain it was able to tackle. Lastly it has 29″ wheels. These roll over bumps slightly more easily than the two other size wheels commonly used on MTBs, 26″ and latterly 27.5″. 29″ wheels are great for stable handling and also longer rides on forest roads and canal towpaths and the like. In short this is a bike aimed at someone getting into e-MTBing and who likes forest trails and wider paths but will also want to mix it up with some rougher riding from time to time, without going to the extremes of e-MTBing where smaller wheels might make for nimbler handling, assuming you are already pretty handy with the e-MTB skills. Again, the E-Apect’s 10 derailleur gears aren’t designed to give the maximum gear range available (11 and 12 speed derailleur systems are available) but 10 is plenty for moderate and rougher trail use – especially as the powerful motor here largely compensates for the lack of an extremely low ‘granny gear’.
Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike

My only real was common to a most hardtail e-MTBs: the lack of mounting points for a rear rack. With that you would be able to have a bike capable of rough-stuff type touring as well as e-MTB day riding. Of course, it’s possible to mount racks using fittings such as p-clips and seatpost clamps but they aren’t really an elegant solution). There’s a also a word of warning that the E-Aspect is best ridden in shorts or skin-hugging lycra-style leggings – de rigeur for most ‘serious’ MTBers you see out on the trail. The reason is that the chain keeper over the front chainring can act as a trap for loose clothing.

On the Trail

We start off whizzing along the Huddersfield Narrow Canal towpath in Greater Manchester’s Tame Valley. My test bike is the large frame model with around a 48cm frame measurement but it’s still perfectly comfortable in a relaxed sitting position a I scoot along the wonderfully attractive towpath.
Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike    Scott E-Aspect Electric Bike

The real test comes climbing out of the attractive Lancastrian old weavers’ village of Diggle on the wonderful Pennine Bridleway. There’s a long steady climb of around 150m / 550ft of climbing and I notice all the MTBs we encounter are going down the hill not up it!
The trail proves an ideal test for the E-Aspect – there are rocks and very small rock steps, a few ruts and mud but this National Trail has been made with the average MTB rider in mind rather than the expert fanatic.
I quickly realise the Brose motor is plenty powerful enough for climbing here; its just a matter of picking the right course, keeping weight over the back wheel on the steeper sections and keeping pedalling.

The power delivery is extremely intuitive and enhanced by the quietness of the motor; whisper quiet in power level one and with only a quiet whirr in levels two and three. If you want to know more about how it works, complete with an explanation of belt drive, epicyclic gears and triple sensor technology check out the video below.

The practical upshot is the ability to climb trails like the following that I would struggle to ride up without assistance, and as the man in the video says, the smooth power delivery feels like it’s in perfect harmony with your own human power input. Level two provides plenty of power to get by right to the top so no doubt the bike would easily tackle much stiffer climbs than this too, subject to my ability to stay on the bike…Also level one is useful for smoother, less steep sections and lets you get a decent amount of exercise too.

A final point worth making about the Brose motor is that even above the assisted cut-off speed of 15.5mph it still feels pretty good to pedal; moreso than many other centre motors that I’ve tried.

All in all the Scott E-Aspect is one of slickest, quietest and easiest to handle e-MTBs out there and is highly recommended.

 

E-Scale 930

Totally amazed, best thing I have ever had

by Amber Draper on 26 Jan 2018

I have been blown away by this bike. No hill too hard for it,cycled the Lake District passes. Holds its charge very well, handles beautifully. Quick to recharge. Yes, it’s heavy but when riding it, you don’t notice this. The down side is that I can’t help myself, I am overtaking all the fit young men on road bikes. Husband so amazed that he now has the identical bike.

Winora


Yakun Urban

Wizard Winora

by John on 6 Feb 2018

Bought the Yakun Tour as a retirement present to get me out and about and it's certainly delivered. It's a quality bike. 1500 miles so far up and down the pesky Chiltern Hills, along roads, cycle paths, muddy lanes and flinty tracks and no punctures so far! Fitted an Ortlieb trunk bag and Zefal spy mirror which complement the look.

The Yamaha PW-X drive is very impressive. Pottering along on ECO will give almost 100 mile range but this bike is addictive and just loves going past a bit of lycra uphill. Use STD or HIGH and 50-70 miles is more realistic. It likes a reasonably high cadence and the gears took me a few days to master as my previous e-bike had a Currie motor driving the rear wheel and could just be left in top gear - until the batteries died after little more than 10 miles. Disc brakes are very powerful and just a squeeze with a little finger is all that is required.

The lights too are very good. The front automatically brightens when going through subways or avenues of trees in country lanes. Never had a bike with suspension before. The ride is still quite firm but well controlled helped by the big Almotion tyres that have a surprisingly low rolling resistance. Can't stop smiling!

Yakun Tour

Very Good

by E-Bike Test Focus on 4 May 2017

E-bike Test Focus Yakun ReviewThe distinctive Winora is unique in many ways. With wide 27.5-inch tires, it offers a good balance of maneuverability and rolling behavior; Rarely in this vehicle class are the axles, which fix the wheels exactly, instead of quick-release.

The Yamaha engine, which is particularly strong on the mountain and when starting, is combined with a 2 × 10-speed chain shifting. For this purpose, he pushes up a useful speed range up to above 26 km / h. The agile Yakun is very sporty with a soft-responsive suspension fork and extremely strong, although well-adjustable disc brakes. The seating is comfortable, the handlebar is quite wide. Great idea: the trailer coupling integrated into the frame.

Yakun Tour

Yakun on Tour

by Nick on 27 May 2017

Glad you liked the pictures, just to add this bike is an absolute dream to ride, as you said you can use the power as much or as little as you want as with the 20 gears you can still work up a good sweat but knowing at the end if you want that help then the power this bike belts out is phenomenal.

To be honest anyone out there thinking about an electric bike then in my opinion you can't go wrong with this one, fun times ahead

 

 

 

Haibike


SDURO Trekking 5.0 men

Delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0

by Nick on 8 May 2017

The personal attention and customer service delivered by 50 cycles was exceptional. My thanks go to Anthony, Chloe and Nathan for providing me with detailed and comprehensive advice and support throughout my selection and purchase. I am now the delighted owner of a Haibike Trekking 5.0 and I have every confidence in recommending this company to those interested in buying an electric bike.

Cube


Cross Hybrid Race Allroad 500

Superb bike

by Neil on 28 Nov 2017

Having recently bought the AllRoad 500 from Reece at Altrincham and just returned from my first ride of 30 miles it was superb. The bike is comfortable to ride handles as well as my Cube cross hybrid. Can ride it without electric and the range is good too. Riding in Eco mode I covered 30miles and there was still 39 miles range still showing. All round very pleased with the bike and the service from Reece at Altrincham.

Quality Electric Bikes Supplier

First Class Service

We specialise in providing the best electric bikes and the smartest cycling accessories in the UK. We also offer the most responsive and knowledgeable after sales service.

Find out more

Finance Options Available

All our new bikes are available to buy with interest-free finance (typical 0% APR). You can ease the cost of ownership by paying a deposit and choosing one of our finance packages when checking out.

Find out more

Book a Test Ride

Sometimes it takes a test ride to understand what an e-bike can do for you. Please visit one of our showrooms or take a test ride with a local Kalkhoff owner who's also a demonstrator

Find out more